Langley Community Music School http://langleymusic.com A non-profit music school serving the community since 1969. Tue, 23 May 2017 22:02:14 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Year End Showcase Concert http://langleymusic.com/year-end-showcase-concert-2/ Tue, 23 May 2017 19:45:42 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7151 […]]]> Saturday June 10 – 7pm

Join us for a dazzling evening of music featuring our Concert Orchestra and award-winning senior students.  Works by Bach, Telemann, Mozart, Sarasate, Haydn and more!

Admission by donation.

 

]]>
Community Day Open House http://langleymusic.com/community-day-open-house-5/ Tue, 18 Apr 2017 23:33:52 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7135 […]]]> May 6, 2017 – 12:30-2:30pm

Join us from 12:30 – 2:30pm on May 6 for our annual open house, featuring a free children’s concert, A Young Person’s Guide to the String Quartet, with the Rose Gellert String Quartet at 1pm. It will be a great opportunity to try instruments, meet teachers, get information about programs and enrichment classes, and to pre-register for next year.

]]>
Music Monday http://langleymusic.com/music-monday/ Tue, 18 Apr 2017 00:28:22 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7137 […]]]> May 1, 2017 – 7pm

Hear the Vancouver Orpheus Male Choir perform together with the LCMS Children’s Choir in celebration of Music Monday!

Tickets: Adults $15, Students $10 (children under 12 free)

 

 

]]>
Arietta Strings http://langleymusic.com/arietta-strings/ Sat, 18 Mar 2017 02:39:44 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7113 […]]]> April 9, 2017 – 2:30pm

Join the Arietta Strings (Max Ngai, violin, Luiza Nelepcu, violin, Frances Dodd, viola, Ian Hampton, cello) for this special performance of Haydn’s profound Seven Last Words of Christ in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the WWI battle of Vimy Ridge. With poems by Barbara Nickel.

Admission by donation. 

]]>
Family Intro to Music Night http://langleymusic.com/family-intro-to-music-night-3/ Fri, 10 Feb 2017 02:17:18 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7077 […]]]> March 21, 2017 – 6-8pm

Celebrate spring with musical fun for the entire family! Hear a variety of student and faculty performances, and try out instruments at one of our many instrument stations.
Drop in for a few minutes or stay for the whole event. And don’t miss the children’s classic musical tale Peter and the Wolf, presented by West Coast Chamber Music at 7pm.

Free admission.

]]>
Peter and the Wolf http://langleymusic.com/peter-and-the-wolf/ Sat, 24 Dec 2016 01:05:59 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7028 […]]]> March 21, 2017 – 7pm –

LCMS is proud to present the children’s classic, Peter and the Wolf. The score of this famous musical fairytale by Prokofiev is recreated by West Coast Chamber Musicians, Ross Curran, Holly Duff & Alan Crane using a variety of wind instruments, piano and percussion. The music is brought to life on stage by artist Angela Brown, who uses colourful body puppets, dance, mime and pantomime to animate humourously all the characters of this wonderful story.

Admission is free.

]]>
Scholarship Awards Festival Concert http://langleymusic.com/scholarship-awards-festival-concert-2/ Sat, 24 Dec 2016 00:45:48 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7026 […]]]> February 25, 2017 – 2pm
Join us for a concert featuring selected outstanding performers from our annual Scholarship & Awards Festival. An awards presentation will follow the concert. Admission is free.

]]>
Lafayette String Quartet http://langleymusic.com/lafayette-string-quartet/ Sat, 24 Dec 2016 00:04:17 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=7019 […]]]> January 12, 2017 –

LCMS is thrilled to present the world renowned Lafayette String Quartet in this free concert, which will feature works by Shostakovich.

The concert will take place in the Rose Gellert Hall at 7pm.

 

]]>
A Concert at Christmas http://langleymusic.com/a-concert-at-christmas-2/ Thu, 01 Dec 2016 03:12:46 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=6993 […]]]> December 9, 2016 – 7pm

Join us for A Concert at Christmas, featuring the LCMS Concert Orchestra, String Ensemble, Read & Play Orchestra and Cellorama.  Admission is free.

]]>
LCMS Canadian Music Festival http://langleymusic.com/lcms-canadian-music-festival/ Thu, 24 Nov 2016 23:43:10 +0000 http://langleymusic.com/?p=6984 […]]]> Join us in celebrating Canadian music at our Canadian Music Festival this Saturday November 26 at 2pm. Hear performances by students of all ages and levels, the LCMS Fiddlers and Children’s Choir. Plus, hear the Rose Gellert String Quartet perform works written by LCMS composition students, and more! Admission is free.

]]>